Feeling Welcome at Home: More on Marriage Leadership


Perusing the web, I found this post about wives and families welcoming home their husbands and fathers. It rang true to me, I have no greater feeling during the day when my arrival at home is cheered by my amazing wife, my two cute daughters, and of course the dogs too.

My 3 year old fights through a flurry of rapidly wagging dog tails to hug me and softly pinch my ear (our little way of saying I Love You), my oldest daughter patiently waits to hug me then explodes with enthusiasm.

I find my wife and am welcomed with a tender kiss that reassures me that I am home, I am loved and I am her man.

As the linked article states, men tend towards insecurity and a greeting like this is a boon to their confidence.

No one likes to feel unappreciated, so if you’re facing that feeling evaluate what it is you think will help you overcome it, then take action. (Remember how you feel is your responsibility).

Talk to your wife about your feelings and ask for her help. She may not even realize there’s a problem. Your wife loves you, and the solution may be as easy as a welcome home kiss, she’s likely more than willing to help.

As the leader in your home, your confidence level affects your behavior and is felt by all. If you’re struggling with it, take action.

Here’s the practical advice:

  • Talk to your wife – This advice shows up in a lot of my posts. That means it’s probably pretty important.
  • Be Introspective – look inside yourself and figure out what it is you need and what you can give. Your wife can’t read your mind.

Above all else: Love Your Wife

About husbandtomywife

Just a man who loves one woman and wants to do it better.
This entry was posted in Becoming Better, Marriage, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

